vlacrl spring program 2020 banner

VLA 2021 Election of Officers: August 3 through September 16

Learn more about our candidates and make sure your membership is active so you can vote!


VLA's Statement on Racism and Violence

The recent murders of George Floyd in Minneapolis, MN, Breonna Taylor in Louisville, KY, and Ahmaud Arbery in Brunswick, GA are only the most recent examples of the ongoing problems with systemic racism in American society today.

The Virginia Library Association (VLA) stands in solidarity with the Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) in condemning violence and racism toward Black people and all people of color, and endorses BCALA's statement condemning increased violence and racism towards Black Americans and people of color.

VLA stands with Black people and all people of color from across the globe in protest of the racism, discrimination, pain and sorrow marginalized communities have experienced for too long. We recognize that we must acknowledge our own biases and be open to change, always considering the impact of our words and actions, regardless of intent. Only by acknowledging our discomfort can we truly effect change and bridge differences. The pervasive racism present in our nation denies its residents equal rights and equal access and as such is a barrier to the goals of this association and to everything that libraries stand for.

We honor and offer our support to library workers, library users, and members of the communities we serve who are susceptible to acts of prejudice, threats of violence, and even death based solely on their race or ethnicity. VLA is planning to hold a moderated town hall on race and libraries in the near future. We have also collected a list of anti-racism resources that was curated by the attendees at a recent VLA Zoomversation meeting. If your library has also created a resource list, please email a link to [email protected] so we may add it to our page.

VLA pledges to work towards a more equitable future for all. We have faith that we can come together and meet the challenges that lie ahead.

-June 2020

VLA's Anti-Racism Resource List

During the June 3, 2020 VLA Zoomversation with the Library of Virginia, the attendees compiled this list of resources related to anti-racism readings, films, podcasts, and other types of resources.  This list will continue to be updated.  If you have any suggestions for additions or edits, please email Lisa Varga.



2020 VLA Annual Conference
October 21-23, Norfolk Waterside Marriott, Norfolk, VA

 The Accidental Library Worker: VLA Professional Associates Forum 2020 Regional Workshop Tour

The Virginia Library Association Professional Associates Forum (VLAPAF) is bringing together library support staff from around the Commonwealth at workshops this Spring and Summer. Here is your chance to network with other library staff as part of our educational training series. The series is proudly sponsored by The Library of Congress Federal Credit Union (LCFCU).

Each workshop will feature a discussion of Cataloging/Technical Services/Collections, presentations about setting SMART goals (professionally and personally), roundtable discussions of topics relevant to YOU and a break for lunch, where you’ll be welcome to chat with others about your experiences working in your library. Did you plan to work in libraries? Were you looking for a change and just happened to come across library work? Are you are new to the library world? Your voice and experience matter. As part of our workshop, we’ll be looking for you to tell us what you want from continuing education experiences – since we will be hosting a conference in 2021 geared specifically to library support staff – and you can help shape the future of those events, Are you new to VLA? This is a great way to learn more about what other libraries are doing in VA. We encourage staff at academic, public, government, special and law libraries to attend. Registration for the workshops is now open. Cost is $20 for VLA members, $30 for non-VLA members. You will be able to specify dietary restrictions on the registration form. The Accidental Library Worker events are from 10 am-4 pm:

  • March 4th: Longwood University
  • April 6th: Mary D. Pretlow Anchor Branch, Norfolk Public Library <<POSTPONED, please contact [email protected] with questions.>>
  • May 6th: Chinn Park Regional Library
  • May 21st: Crozet Library
  • July 15th: Washington County Library, Main Library Branch
  • August 6th: Libbie Mill Library, Henrico County Libraries

Thank you in advance for your support of this program. 
Kristi Jerome, Longwood University: Chair, VLA Professional Associates Forum
Isaak Hopson, Virginia Commonwealth University: Co-Chair, VLA Professional Associates Forum
and the members of the VLA Professional Associates Forum Board