VLA Seeks Academic Library Candidates for Elections

Attention Academic Librarians and Support Staff: Every year, the VLA Executive Committee seeks new candidates for open positions on the Executive Committee, and the entire membership votes on those candidates. This year we have had several public librarians nominated, but not a single academic librarian or staffer! VLA seeks academic candidates for the positions listed below, so please nominate a colleague or yourself!

  • VP/President Elect (3 years)
  • Second VP (2 years)
  • Treasurer (2 years)

To learn about the duties and responsibilities, please see page 15 of the VLA Manual, listed here.

Please submit your nomination to Martha Hutzel, Chair of the Nominating Committee, at [email protected], by May 26th. Any questions can be directed to her via email, or by calling 540-372-1144.

Beginning October 13 (at the end of the 2017 VLA Annual Conference), these successful candidates will be joining the following members of the Executive Committee:

  • Todd Elliott, President
  • Keith Weimer, Immediate Past-President
  • Jennifer Resor-Whicker, Secretary
  • Samantha Thomason, ALA Councilor
  • Lisa R. Varga, Executive Director

In addition, you may wish to contact the other members of the Nominating Committee:
Kevin Smith, [email protected], 757-890-5134
Kimberly Knight, [email protected], 202-306-4452

Thank you!
Martha M. Hutzel
Director, CRRL
Library Administration
1201 Caroline St.
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
540-372-1144, Ext. 260