

General Session - Annual Business Meeting Friday, October 21, 2022 Norfolk Waterside Marriott, Norfolk, Virginia

Call to Order

President K.T. Vaughan called the meeting to order at 2:47 p.m. K.T. thanked members of the Conference Committee and Vivian Washington for organizing an excellent conference and shared with attendees the QR code for accessing the business meeting documents, along with instructions on how to access them via the Business Meeting calendar entry on the VLA website.

Secretary's Report

Lisa Broughman submitted the report from the previous year's annual business meeting held in Richmond, VA, on October 29, 2021. Vivian Washington moved to approve the minutes; Zach Elder seconded. The motion passed to approve the minutes.

Treasurer's Report

Kyle Binaxas reported that VLA exceeded the anticipated revenue from membership dues, and raised \$8,151 for Scholarships which brought the association very close to the \$9,000 goal. The Innovative Library Classroom conference was a very successful event this year, and while the Association's investments were down this year, the expenses also came in under budget.

Membership Update and ALA Joint Student Membership Program

Lisa Varga provided an update on the Association's 2022 membership with a special thanks to the directors and deans of libraries who participate in the Affiliate memberships, along with the ALA Joint Student program members.

2022 Membership
279 Individual members
44 Life Members
93 Affiliate Members (4567 members)
67 ALA Joint Student Members
Total membership: 4,957

Past President's Report

Jennifer Resor-Whicker began by thanking the members of this year's nominating committee for their work on recruiting nominees for the open positions on the Executive Committee. This year's nominating committee included Jennifer, Clint Rudy, Karim Kahn, and Candice Benjes-Small.

This year elections were held for the positions of Vice-President/President-Elect, Secretary, and ALA Councilor. The newly elected officers will join the Executive Committee at the close of this business meeting. The winners of the 2022 elections are:

Vice-President/President-Elect: Nan Carmack, Library of Virginia Secretary: Rebecca Purdy, Central Rappahannock Regional Library

> P.O. Box 56312 Virginia Beach, VA 23456 (757) 689-0594 • fax (757) 447-3478 vla.lisav@cox.net



ALA Councilor: Kerri Copus, Montgomery-Floyd Regional Library System

President's Report

K.T. Vaughan thanked Past-President Jennifer Resor-Whicker for developing a new set of strategic priorities for the Association, focusing on DEI support. The four primary strategic priorities include: Membership, Advocacy & Visibility, Conferences & Continuing Education, and Clear Communication & Organizational Structure.

K.T. updated the members on the Association's response to several events that occurred during the year, which included the Zoom-bombing of the Librarians of Color Forum and the numerous book-banning attempts across Virginia. The Association hired Dr. Sharon Jones to lead the Executive Committee in DEI training last fall and brought her back to lead a Healing Circle for the affected members of the Librarians of Color Forum, as well as offering a broader training session for members of the VLA Council. K.T. thanked Lisa Varga for her swift response to book-banning efforts and was happy to report the case against Virginia Beach Public Schools was decided in our favor a few weeks before the conference. K.T. reminded members that VLA can assist Virginia's libraries if they also receive challenges.

K.T. also reported on the numerous in-person and virtual events sponsored by Association committees and forums, including the extremely popular Intellectual Freedom webinar series offered this fall. K.T. also introduced Amy Saunders, VLA's Administrative Assistant.

Presidential Citation

K.T. Vaughan announced this year's Presidential Citation would be awarded posthumously to Pierre Courtois, the long-standing photographer for Virginia Library Association conferences and events. The citation reads: *In recognition of his long and skillful service to the Virginia Library Association as the official visual documentarian of annual meetings*.

Conference Committee Chair Recognition

K.T. Vaughan asked Vivian Washington to join her at the podium for a few parting remarks. Vivian announced that there were more than 491 registrants at the conference, asked the members of the Conference Committee to stand for recognition, and thanked the sponsors of this year's conference.

Executive Committee Recognition

K.T. Vaughan recognized the members of the Executive Committee who completed their terms as officers. Outgoing members include Lucy Rush Wittkower, ALA Councilor; Lisa Broughman, Secretary; and Jennifer Reasor-Whicker, who gave an extra year to the Association by serving two extraordinary years as VLA President.

Passing the Gavel

K.T. Vaughan thanked the Association for allowing her to serve as President. She appreciated everyone in attendance who joined the conference this year and asked Kimberly Knight to approach the podium for the passing of the gavel.

2022 Annual Conference



Kimberly Knight thanked K.T. for being a wonderful President and inspiration and thanked Lisa Varga for supporting the Association. Kimberly introduced the 2023 Conference Chair, Babak Zarin, who announced next year's keynote speaker, award-winning poet Jason Reynolds. The conference will be held on October 22 - 24, 2023, at the Chantilly Westfields Marriott, Washington Dulles.

Adjournment

Kimberly Knight asked for a motion to adjourn. Jennifer Resor-Whicker moved; Lisa Varga seconded. The motion passed, and the meeting adjourned at 3:22 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Lisa Broughman, VLA Secretary